top of page
Abruzzo Calascio

ABRUZZOstrong and friendly

The Abruzzo, in Italian simply 'Abruzzo', is a region in central Italy. To put it simply: where 'left' is Rome, 'right' is Abruzzo. Both Rome and Naples are within easy reach from here. A paradise of snowy peaks and the azure blue Adriatic Sea, Abruzzo is the only place in the world where you can ski with a view of the sea. The immense beauty of Abruzzo is a surprise to anyone who comes there for the first time. This is definitely one of Italy's hidden gems! Click on '10 x Abruzzo' and your ten reasons why Abruzzo will be your next travel destination.

Living or staying in Abruzzo

Living in Abruzzo is a fantastic experience, as the creators of this website can testify. In various American and English studies (including Times and TripAdvisor), Abruzzo consistently emerges as one of the world's top regions for second homes, based on ten criteria. If desired, we would be happy to assist you in finding the right home. Staying in Abruzzo is also recommended for anyone who wants to enjoy life in a sun-drenched region where foreign tourists are rare. We are knowledgeable about the best places to visit, dine, and enjoy the nicest bars, among other things. If you would like to learn more, please send an email to

Abruzzo Pescare promenade strand beach
Abruzzo Roccascalegna middeleeuwse dorpen

Forte e gentile

Often accompanied by the description 'forte e gentile' (first pronounced by the author Primo Levi), Abruzzo truly lives up to its name. Strong and friendly, that's Abruzzo. The region is rich in medieval villages that have stood the test of time for centuries, and its population is known to be one of the friendliest in the Italian peninsula.

The name Abruzzo is derived from the Latin Aprutium, which roughly translates to "Land of the swine". Previously,  the region, along with Molise, formed the region of Abruzzo and Molise (until 1963). Abruzzo shares its borders with Marche to the north, Lazio (Rome) to the northwest and west, Molise to the southeast, and the Adriatic Sea to the east. The area of Abruzzo covers 3.5% of the national territory, spanning 10 763 km². This is comparable to a third of Belgium or the Netherlands. In terms of size, the region ranks fifteenth among Italian regions. Out of  1,000 Italians, 22 reside in Abruzzo, accounting for 2.2% of the total national population. In total approximately 1.3 million people call Abruzzo their home.

Pescara, the heart of Abruzzo

The capital of Abruzzo isL'Aquila (or Aquila). The region is divided into four provinces, named after their respective capitals: L'AquilaTeramoChieti and Pescara. Apart from these, some of the most interesting cities in Abruzzo include SulmonaLanciano, Guardiagrele, Vasto and AtriPescara, the largest city in the region, serves as its economic hub. It boasts a seafront promenade that strectches over ten kilometers, lined with modern shopping streets. The mountain villages of Abruzzo, particularly  in the province of L'Aquila,  are enchantingly beautiful and seem untouched by time. Notable examples include PacentroCivicella del Tronto, Pescocostanzo, Roccascalegna, and Pietracamela.

Tourism on the coast is relatively developed, but it is rare to encounter non-Italian tourists in this region. The main coastal destinations include Alba AdriaticaRoseto degli AbruzziPineto, Pescara, Giulianova, Montesilvano, and Francavilla al Mare. Between San Vito Chietino and Fossacesia lies the heart of what many consider to be the most beautiful coastal region in the Mediterranean: the Costa dei Trabocchi. This area is known for its ancient fishing piers (trabocchi), which are now recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

bottom of page